Celebrating 50 years in 50 weeks

The photo posted below contains the 1991 participants in the Junior Scholars program. Through the Bess and Marie Pixely Fund, the Miami Summer Scholars Program has continued to receive grant dollars from the foundation to cover the cost of several Scioto County high school sophomores and juniors interested in the course. This seven-day program offers a competitive opportunity for an immersive, intensive exploration of a particular field of study through close engagement with faculty and integrated curricular, co-curricular, and residential experiences.

Students seeking more information about this program can contact their guidance counselor or reach out to Miami University’s local Liaison, SCOESC Talented and Gifted Coordinator, Sharee Price.

The Scioto Foundation awards grants on a quarterly basis in categories of the arts/culture, education, economic development, social services, civic benefit, youth personal development, animal welfare and healthcare. Application deadlines are March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31.

SF grant applications and guidelines may be found on the Scioto Foundation’s website, www.sciotofoundation.org.

Photographed below are

Back row l-r: Laura Beth David (Valley High School), Julie Bouyack (Portsmouth High School), Chris Braun (Portsmouth High School), Nathan Booth (South Webster High School), Nathan Booth (South Webster High School), Chuck Queen (South Webster High School)

Front row l-r: Stacey Blevins (South Webster High School), Micah Acox (South Webster High School), Jennifer Chamberlain (South Webster High School), Jon Tate (Wheelersburg High School), Chad Flinders (Wheelersburg High School), Chris Stump (Northwest High School)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top