Congratulations to winners of the 2023-’24 Roy Rogers Scholarship Fund.

Congratulations to Olivia Percell, Mary Williams, and Karlee York, winners of the 2023-’24 Roy Rogers Scholarship Fund.

Established in 1984, the Roy Rogers Scholarship Fund was created by the Portsmouth Area Community Exhibits to honor this hometown celebrity.

Rogers was born Leonard Franklin Slye on November 5, 1911. He was an American singer, actor, and television host. Rogers co-founded the Sons of the Pioneers and then started acting in 1935 with fellow cowboy singing star, Gene Autry. Rogers would later become one of the most popular Western stars of his era. Known as the “King of the Cowboys”, he appeared in over 100 films and numerous radio and television episodes of The Roy Rogers Show. In many of his films and television episodes, he appeared with his wife, Dale Evans; his Golden Palomino, Trigger; and his German Shepherd, Bullet. His show was broadcast on radio for nine years and then on television from 1951 through 1957.

To be eligible for this scholarship, students must be a graduate of a Scioto County, Ohio high school, have participated in 4-H, and enrolled at Shawnee State University.

Since 1984, this scholarship fund has previously awarded over 42 students close to $50,000.00 in scholarship dollars, while maintaining a 12/31/22 year-end market value of $85,884.69. With Olivia, Mary, and Karlee’s award, this scholarship will payout over $53,500.00 in scholarship dollars. Through the power of endowments, this fund has helped to carry on the legacy of Roy

Rogers and his family.

Past scholarship winners include:

• Madison Brown

• Garrett Koverman

• Hannah Tackett

• Zach Hammond

• Felicity Pettay

• Mckensie Spencer

• Arielanda Kingery

• Ava McCleese

• Natalie Percell

• Katelyn York

• Jordan Hileman

• Robert Howard

• Martin Holsinger

• Lana Percell

• Chelsea Hayslip

• Kiya Crall

• Brianna Boggs

• Kali Johnson

• Michael Daniels

• Jasmine Gilley

• Tiffany Traylor

• Sarah Johnson

• Zach Call

• Kyle Hickerson

• Alicia Bennett

• Jaclyn Hickerson

• Josh Coriell

• Tomi Evans

• Zach Coriell

• Andrea Simpson

• Justin Stagg

• Thomas Crabtree

And many others

The Scioto Foundation scholarship application opens at the end of the year and closes several months after. Those who are graduates of a Scioto County, Ohio high school, have participated in 4-H, and enrolled at Shawnee State University are encouraged to apply.

For more information about this scholarship fund, other funds at the foundation, or the Scioto Foundation scholarship application, please contact Ginnie Moore, Grant and Scholarship Coordinator by emailing or phoning the office at (740)354-4612. Those wishing to make contributions to this fund may do so at any time. Online donations can be made by visiting

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top